Award Programs

James D. MacConnell Award
The James D. MacConnell Award recognizes an outstanding, comprehensive planning process, which results in educational facilities that serve the needs of students, staff, and the community, and facilitate student achievement. Emphasizing the connection between the planning process and the end-result, a healthy, high-performing school facility, uniquely assesses how well a school facility supports the academic program of the school district. With on-site interviews of students, school staff, community stakeholders and the design team, the jury thoroughly evaluates the entire process of building a school.

CEFPI Exhibition of School Planning & Architecture
The world's largest juried exhibit recognizing exceptional planning and inspired architectural design of high quality learning environments. Every year the exhibit and award ceremony is part of the Annual World Conference & Expo. All projects are prominently displayed as part of the conference exhibition.

Industry Partner Award
This newly established award is designed to highlight innovation in materials, technology, products and services that are key elements in defining healthy, high performance schools. New and improved products stimulate the life and growth of our educational facilities. This competition recognizes the results of those efforts and the foresight of the companies whose policies bring new products to the marketplace.

Lifetime Achievement
The annual Lifetime Achievement Award is the highest and most distinguished honor conferred by the Council. Selection is made by the Lifetime Achievement Committee. The jury consists of the Immediate Past President as the Chairperson, plus one member appointed by each region.

CEFPI Fellowships
The CEFPI Fellow designation is bestowed on individuals who have consistently contributed to the association in the highest manner possible. A Fellow is the most respected member of the CEFPI community. They represent the mark of excellence in the industry in which they serve and are recognized as those that advanced the association and its mission.