CEFPI Fellowships

The CEFPI Fellow designation will be bestowed on individuals who have consistently contributed to the association in the highest manner possible. A Fellow is the most respected member of the CEFPI community. They represent the mark of excellence in the industry in which they serve and are recognized as those that advanced the association and its mission.

Following the selection of the Charter Class (2011), a set number of Fellowships will be awarded each year (no more than 5) from a nomination process beginning with the CEFPI Regions and Chapters. A jury appointed by the Awards Committee will review and evaluate application materials and award Fellowships through a scoring process rating a candidate’s submission. Past Fellowship Award members will comprise the jury.

A CEFPI Fellow will be an individual who has tirelessly and selflessly supported CEFPI and its mission. Fellows are long-standing recognized experts in their field and possess the wisdom to carry the industry and the association forward by volunteering for committee assignments, positions of leadership and introducing innovation within CEFPI. They represent the pinnacle of excellence in the industry in which they serve and are recognized as those who have advanced the association and its mission. In the event that more than five candidates are submitted, only the top five (based on numeric scores) will be awarded Fellowship status and the remaining candidates will be considered for the next year.

A Fellowship is given to members that:

  • Have been an active member for at least 10 years.
  • Have 20 years of experience in the field of education and/or the education environment.
  • Hold certifications and/or designations that are industry specific.
  • Freely contributes to the body of knowledge via presentations and/or publications.
  • Served in leadership roles both at the region and international levels.
  • Assumed responsibility and leadership in furthering the strategic initiatives of the Council by serving on CEFPI committees.
  • Demonstrated the advancement and promotion of the mission of CEFPI.
  • Demonstrated a willingness to mentor others.


Active member of CEFPI for 10 years
20 years of experience in the field of education and/or the education environment


10   Quality of professional certifications and/or industry specific designations
10   Willingness to share professional knowledge via presentations and/or publications over a period of time
10   Quality of service and leadership to CEFPI at the regional and international level
10   Contributions to advancing the association's Strategic Plan
50   Overall long-term contribution to advancing and promoting the mission of CEFPI
10   Impact of the quality of the nominee's mentorship to other CEFPI members

Download the Fellowship Award nomination form

CEFPI Fellows
Paul Abramson
Julie Barrett
William S. DeJong, Ph.D., REFP
Tom Ellis
Ronald H. Fanning, AIA, P.Eng., CEFP, NCEE
Dwayne Gardner
Edward E. Kirkbride, REFP
Merle Kirkley, CEFP
Scott Layne
Ron A. McKnight
Ed McMilin, CEFP
Sue Robertson, CEFP
Thomas R. Rushin
Hugh C. Skinner, REFP, MCIP
Dr. N. Reginald Teague, REFP